Rwanda is a country in central and eastern Africa with a population of approximately 11.4 million and is located a few degrees south of the Equator. Bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, all of Rwanda is at high altitude, with mountains in the west, savanna in the east, and numerous lakes throughout the country. The climate is temperate, with two rainy seasons and two dry seasons every year.